MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING **DECEMBER 19, 2024**

The Board of Trustees of Community College District 509, Counties of Kane, Cook, DuPage, McHenry and DeKalb, State of Illinois, convened a special meeting on Thursday, December 19, 2024, in Building E, Room E100.01.

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Vice Chair Rakow called the special meeting to order at 5:09 p.m., indicated that a quorum was present, and asked the recorder to call roll.

Trustees present: Ms. Rakow, Mr. Nowak, Dr. Ollayos, Mr. Rodriguez, Ms. Arroyo, Mr. Parks and Student Trustee Ms. Heiser.

Trustees absent: Dr. Redmer.

ECC staff: Mr. Vazquez, General Counsel; and Ms. Kerruish, Recorder

2. Consideration of and possible actions on any request for a board member's electronic participation in a meeting No requests were received.

3. Pledge of Allegiance

The pledge was led by Trustee Ollayos.

4. Recess to Closed Session

The Vice Chair asked for a motion to recess immediately to closed session under the following exceptions to the Illinois Open Meetings Act:

A. To consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the college....

pursuant to Chapter 5 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes Sections 120/2 (c) (1).

Motion:	Trustee Nowak moved to recess to closed session.
Second:	Student Trustee Heiser seconded the motion.
Roll-Call Vote:	Aye, 6: Rakow, Nowak, Ollayos, Parks, Arroyo and Rodriguez; nay, 0; Student Trustee Heiser, aye; motion carried at 5:10 p.m.

5. Reconvene Open Session

The open-session was reconvened at 6:03 p.m.

The Board recessed at 6:04 p.m. and reconvened at 6:09 p.m. Interim President Heinrich arrived at the meeting.

MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING OF DECEMBER 19, 2024

6. Consent Agenda

A. Personnel

- 1. New Hire, Instructor of Computer Information System (CIS), Mr. Mark Krukowski
- 2. New Hire, Instructor of English, Ms. Jennifer Clark
- 3. New Hire, Assistant Professor II, Dr. Daniel Mancilla

<i>Motion:</i>	Trustee Nowak moved to approve the consent agenda as presented.
<i>Second:</i>	Trustee Ollayos seconded the motion.
Roll Call Vote:	Aye, 6; Rakow, Nowak, Ollayos, Rodriguez, Arroyo and Parks; nay, 0;

Student Trustee Heiser, aye; motion carried.

7. Approve Contract for the College President

Motion:	Trustee Rodriguez moved to approve the contract for Peggy Heinrich, EdD, as the 9 th president of Elgin Community College.
Second:	Trustee Parks seconded the motion.
Roll Call Vote:	Ayes, 6; Rakow, Nowak, Ollayos, Rodriguez, Parks and Arroyo; nay, 0; Student Trustee Heiser, aye; motion carried.

8. Audience Wishing to Address the Board

There were no audience members wishing to address the Board.

9. Adjournment

Motion:	Trustee Rodriguez moved to adjourn the meeting.
Second:	Trustee Parks seconded the motion.
Voice Vote:	Aye, 6; Rakow, Nowak, Ollayos, Rodriguez, Arroyo and Parks; nay;
	0; Student Trustee Heiser, aye: meeting adjourned at 6:11 p.m.

Shane Nowak, Board Secretary

Diane Kerruish, Board Recorder